droupadi murmu: Assam: 25 MLAs belonging to opposition camp cross-voted in favour of NDA candidate

As many as 25 opposition belonging to opposition camp in Assam cross voted in the presidential election in favour of NDA candidates.

Out of total 126 state assembly MLAs, 124 of them voted, 2 were absent. BJP and its allies strength is 79, Droupadi Murmu polled 104 MLAs.

“Smt Droupadi Murmu polled 104 votes compared to NDA’s original strength of 79 in the 126 member Assam Assembly. 2 absent .My heartfelt gratitude to the people of Assam for reposing their faith in the NDA’s Presidential candidate & wholeheartedly joining this historic moment.” Assam Chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma had tweeted.

Congress accepted that there was cross voting. “I am aghast that we had 26 votes but we could cast 20 votes in your favor @YashwantSinha ji, This immoral and abject surrender of ideology has stung my conscience and I strongly feel about it. This is a let down of political ethics” Assam Congress chief Bhupen Borah tweeted.

Soon after polls opposition parties in Assam accuse each other of cross voting in presidential polls. All India United Democratic Front alleged around 20 Congress MLAS cross voted in favour of NDA presidential nominee Draupadi Murmu, Congress snubbed back.

Leader of the Opposition in the Assam Legislative Assembly and senior Congress leader, Debabrata Saikia, “there has been cross voting. ”

AIUDF Supremo and Lok sabha MP from Assam Maulana Badaruddin Ajmal had ahead of polls announced that the party’s 15 MLAs, of which 2 are absent since they have gone for Haj will vote for opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha.

Congress MLA Bharat Chandra Narah had sought permission to exercise his franchise in the Parliament as he is in New Delhi for medical treatment.Two MLAs of the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) — Suzzamuddin Laskar and Nizamuddin Choudhury — are currently outside the country as they are away in Saudi Arabia to perform Hajj.

In Tripura, except Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) MLA Brishaketu Debbarma and CPI-M legislator Sudhan Das, all other 58 MLAs including Chief Minister Manik Saha and opposition leader Manik Sarkar had cast their votes in the state assembly in Agartala.

BJP’s ally IPFT’s legislator Debbarma did not cast his vote as he resigned from the Assembly in June 2021, and joined the TIPRA (Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance) headed by Tripura’s royal scion, Pradyot Bikram Manikya Deb Barman.Debbarma’s resignation was, however, not yet accepted by the Assembly speaker Ratan Chakraborty due to some procedural reasons.

CPI-M MLA Sudhan Das had cast his vote in the Parliament house. In Mizoram, all the 40 MLAs of the state Assembly including Chief Minister Zoramthanga exercised their franchise to elect 16th President of India.

In Nagaland, 59 of the 60 sitting members of the Nagaland Assembly casted their votes. Environment, Forest and Climate Change Minister Y.M. Yollow Konyak could not cast his vote due to health issues.

As many as eight MLAs across Northeast India abstained from voting. While two cabinet ministers and two from TMC abstained from voting in Meghalaya, two AIUDF MLAs are out of country, one MLA in Tripura has resigned. In Arunachal Pradesh a BJP MLA from Koloriang Lokam Tassar did not turn up to vote for he is facing rape charges. The MLA is absconding and the bail petition before the District and Sessions Court in Yupia was rejected by the court.

Source link

Denial of responsibility! insideheadline is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.