Proteas go 2-0 up in India T20 series after dominant win

Wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen smashed 81 off 46 balls to lead South Africa’s tricky chase as they beat India by four wickets in the second Twenty20 international on Sunday.


Needing 149 for victory on a hot and humid day in Cuttack, South Africa rode Klaasen’s fourth T20 half-century to achieve their target in 18.2 overs and lead the five-match series 2-0.

Proteas won the first T20 by 7 wickets

South Africa’s bowlers, led by pace spearhead Kagiso Rabada, set up victory after they kept India to 148-6 after deciding to field first.

The tourists suffered a pre-match blow when wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock was ruled out with a hand injury but Temba Bavuma’s side kept up the momentum from their opening win.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar put South Africa in trouble at 29-3 inside six overs on a seemingly tough batting pitch before Klaasen and Bavuma, who made 35, put on 64 runs to put the chase back on track.

Kumar, who returned figures of 4-13, took down Reeza Hendricks and Dwaine Pretorius in his first two overs and then bowled previous match hero Rassie van der Dussen, who made 75 in his team’s opening win. 

Klaasen soaked the pressure and the humidity with his clean hitting.

He raised his 50 in 41 balls and took apart the Indian attack to make the target look simple with the in-form David Miller for company.

Klaasen hit seven fours and five sixes before departing, but the job had been done and the left-handed Miller hit the winning runs to finish with 20 not out.

Earlier Rabada sent back Ruturaj Gaikwad for one to bring up his 50th T20 wicket for South Africa and returned figures of 1-15.

Left-handed opener Ishan Kishan (34) and Shreyas Iyer (40) then attempted to rebuild the innings in a 45-run partnership that was broken by fast bowler Anrich Nortje, who took two wickets.

Left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj sent back skipper Rishabh Pant in his first over and soon Hardik Pandya’s wicket off Wayne Parnell made India slip further.

But Dinesh Karthik hit an unbeaten 30 off 21 balls to give the team a late push during his 36-run unbeaten stand with Harshal Patel but the effort was not enough.

The third match is in Visakhapatnam on Tuesday, 14 June at 15:30 (SA time).




Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (captain & wkt), Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal.

South Africa

Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma (captain), Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen (wkt), Dwaine Pretorius, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

Source link

Denial of responsibility! insideheadline is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.